Friday, August 13, 1999

Dear Baby,
Well little one, we had a pretty good scare today. I started having cramping about 9 p.m. last night. It was constant throughout the night and this morning. I spoke to my doctor’s office around noon time and they told me a couple things to do and if the pain didn’t get better to go on in to the hospital to get checked. We got to the hospital around 2:00 and they took me straight into the labor and delivery area. The began fetal monitoring. They ran several tests. Everything looked ok. Their biggest fear was that I had an infection of some kind and they definitely wanted that to be checked out in case I needed medication of some kind. I had a 45 minute ultrasound done. You are measuring 32 weeks and 4 days (I’m currently 31 weeks and 5 days), so you are about a week ahead of schedule. You weigh about 4 pounds and 6 ounces. They gave us a precious picture of your face from the ultrasound (I’ll get it posted to the website as soon as I get it scanned). They determined that the pain was not due to an infection and was simply stretching of some ligaments due to your growing. They were very happy to rule out the infection though. They were fixing to release me when I started having contractions. They continued monitoring and had me drinking tons of fluids to try to get the contractions to stop. Finally after two hours, they stopped and they released me to come home and rest. They said if the pain got any worse to come back to get checked. I’m not dilated at all so that was a positive also. They also said you are head down and just waiting to be born. We’re so thankful that you are ok. We were very scared. We were excited to get to see you. You were so active that they kept having to move the monitors to hear your heartbeat. The nurse says that your heartbeat says you are a boy, but we’ll just have to wait and see. We love you!
Love, Mommy

Leave a comment

Filed under 1999

Leave a Reply

