Monday, February 12, 2001

What a night we had last night. Damaris Mikaelia (16 months old) had an accident at church and split her forehead open about 1 to 1 1/2 inches long. She was walking down the hall with her Daddy and stumbled over her own feet and hit her head on a metal door jam. I was just down the hall talking to a friend when I heard a thud and dead silence for about 5 seconds. Then I heard my little princess let out a blood curdling scream. This happened right outside the men’s restroom and I looked up to see Russ running inside with her in his arms. She had gone unconscious for 2 or 3 seconds. I ran down the hall and into the men’s restroom. Her head was just covered in blood. I got inside and was hysterical. She had blood all in her eye and I thought she had hit her eye. The laceration is actually above her left eye which is why all the blood went into her eye. Russ tried to get the bleeding to stop and we took off for the local emergency room. We got there and they were complete idiots!!! I run inside carrying her in my arms with blood gushing everywhere. I yelled for someone to help me and they looked at me like I was an idiot. They finally said that they would get to me after while. Yeah right!! Finally about 5 to 10 minutes after we got there, a man (don’t know if he was a doctor or a nurse) came out, looked at me, looked at her, and said ok and walked back inside. They told me to sit down and they would get to us eventually. I sat for about 5 to 10 minutes and finally Russ got up and asked them when they were going to take her back. She was gushing blood this whole time. They told Russ that they were full up and that they would get to her when they had time. I lost it and started yelling at them. The kicker was that they took someone with a stomach ache back before they would even triage her. I took off out of the hospital and we drove to the nearest children’s hospital which is 45 miles away. I will be lodging a complaint about the local hospital. I’m so mad at them right now. Anyway, Russ drove about 80 to 90 miles an hour getting us to the children’s hospital. We got there and they triaged her immediately. By this time, the bleeding had slowed down quite a bit, but she was not calm at all. They talked to us and checked her out. Then we had to wait a bit, but at least they had checked her out to make sure she didn’t have a concussion or anything like that. Eventually she had to have seven stitches in her forehead. The doctor who stitched her up was so good. Damaris fell asleep while he was putting the stitches in. It looks pretty yuck this morning, but Damaris is in good spirits. I will take her in Friday to see if the stitches are ready to come out. If not, they will have to wait until Monday. She is going to have a good sized scar on her forehead, but they said since she is so young, it should fade as it grows. Anyway, just had to share our horrible evening with you.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2001

Leave a Reply

