31 Days to Become a Better Writer – Day 5

Photo

Day 5

Today’s challenge:

Look at the children in the above picture.  Imagine you are one of them and write a paragraph or two in the first person.  Layman’s terms, write the paragraph as if you are the child speaking.  Re-write the paragraph in the third person; write it about the same child.

———–

 First person: “Smile, Melody!” my mother said. “I an sniling, ‘Other!” I replied. It was very hard to pronounce m’s when you didn’t move your mouth. Daddy had bought us this box, this beautiful whimsical box. It took this thing called photographs, which was a memory that could be kept forever. I was absolutely amazed by it. “Are you taking the photograph yet, ‘Other?” little John asked. “Please take the photograph, ‘Other,” Amelia (the oldest) said. “‘Y ‘outh is hurting,” I said, still not moving my mouth. Mother took the picture. “Alright, you can stop smiling now,” Mother said.

Awhile later, Mother showed us the picture. “We weren’t wearing those colors. I was wearing blue, not black!” I exclaimed. “I know you were wearing blue, Melody. The camera can’t take color photographs, only black and white photographs,” Mother explained. “Oh. Alright,” I said. “The photograph is still pretty, even though it isn’t colored.”

I still have that photograph. I keep it near me at all times, to remind me of when I was a little girl.

Third person: “Smile, Melody!” her mother said. “I an sniling, ‘Other!” Melody replied. It was very hard to pronounce m’s when you didn’t move your mouth. Their daddy had bought them this box, this beautiful whimsical box. It took this thing called photographs, which was a memory that could be kept forever. Little Melody was absolutely amazed by it. “Are you taking the photograph yet, ‘Other?” little John asked. “Please take the photograph, ‘Other,” Amelia (the oldest) said. “‘Y ‘outh is hurting,” Melody said, still not moving her mouth. Mother took the picture. “Alright, you can stop smiling now,” Mother said.

Awhile later, Mother showed them the picture. “We weren’t wearing those colors. I was wearing blue, not black!” Melody exclaimed. “I know you were wearing blue, Melody. The camera can’t take color photographs, only black and white photographs,” Mother explained. “Oh. Alright,” she said. “The photograph is still pretty, even though it isn’t colored.”

Melody still has that photograph. She keeps it near her at all times, to remind her of when she was a little girl.

1 Comment

Filed under 2012, 31 Days to Become a Better Writer

One response to “31 Days to Become a Better Writer – Day 5

Leave a Reply

